Knack Packaging Limited
At a Glance: Fast-Orientation Triage
What The Company Does: Operational & Strategic Architecture
The company is a vertically integrated manufacturer and exporter of PP/HDPE Woven Sacks and BOPP Laminated PP Woven Bags. These are specialized packaging bags used for animal feed, food grains, fertilizers, and chemicals. The company has a 36,400 MTPA capacity in Gujarat and exports to 68 countries.
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
What does the company do, in one plain sentence?
|
Integrated manufacturer of PP/HDPE Woven Sacks and BOPP Laminated PP Woven Bags used for specialized B2B packaging.
|
OK | Our Business, p.256 (physical page 261) |
| 2 |
Operating history & year of incorporation
|
Incorporated on March 4, 2013 (originally Knack Packaging Private Limited, converted to public on June 23, 2025). 12+ years of operating history.
|
OK | History and Corporate Matters, p.291 (physical page 296) |
| 3 |
Industry / sub-sector & position in the value chain
|
Specialized/Flexible Packaging (specifically Woven Polypropylene Bags and Sacks). Vertically integrated from PP granules to final bags.
|
OK | Our Business, p.256-257 (physical page 261-262) |
| 4 |
Stated competitive strengths - real or generic?
|
Specific strengths: (1) Vertically integrated processes, (2) Large B2B customer base with 67,000+ custom printing cylinders developed for 1,900+ customers (high switching costs), (3) 36,400 MTPA capacity in Gujarat.
|
OK | Our Business - Our Strengths, p.260 (physical page 261-262) |
| 5 |
Stated growth strategy - concrete or aspirational?
|
Concrete expansion plan: Capex of Rs 435.00cr to set up a new manufacturing facility at Borisana, Gujarat to expand capacity. Sustainability focus (solar/windmill power).
|
OK | Our Business - Our Strategies, p.264 (physical page 265) |
| 6 |
Industry tailwinds vs headwinds
|
Global PLWPP bags market growing at 5.0% CAGR. Rising demand in food, agriculture, fertilizers, e-commerce. Shift from paper to PP woven bags.
|
OK | Our Business, p.265 (physical page 270) |
| 7 |
Who commissioned the industry report?
|
Technopak Advisors Private Limited.
|
Watch | Our Business - Industry Report, p.256 (physical page 261) |
| 8 |
Is the TAM / market-size claim credible?
|
Yes, global PLWPP bags market was USD 1.45B in CY2024, expected to reach USD 1.85B by CY2029. Company FY25 revenue (Rs 736cr / ~$88M) represents ~6.0% global share.
|
OK | Our Business, p.265 (physical page 270) |
| 9 |
Market share and its trend
|
Global market share is ~6.0% (CY24/FY25 data). Detailed market share trend not disclosed in DRHP.
|
OK | Our Business, p.265 (physical page 270) |
| 10 |
Key competitors named
|
Mold-Tek Packaging Limited, TCPL Packaging Limited, Time Technoplast Limited.
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.149 (physical page 154) |
The IPO Itself: Capital Allocation & Objects Rupee Breakdown
The IPO comprises a Fresh Issue of Rs 475.00cr and an Offer for Sale of 7,000,000 shares. Promoters Alpesh and Rashminbhai Patel are selling 3.30M shares. The fresh issue money is almost entirely growth-oriented, with 91.6% (Rs 435.00cr) going to set up a new manufacturing plant in Borisana, Gujarat.
Offering Structure & Tranche Breakup
| Offering Parameter / Tranche | Mandate & Allocation | Value & Scale | Strategic Context & Terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fresh Issue (Primary Capital) | Growth capital directly reaching balance sheet | ₹380.00 Cr | Primary equity expansion funding capex, working capital & debt |
| Offer for Sale (OFS Liquidations) | Secondary liquidity for existing promoters & early funds | OFS Dilution Tranche | Proceeds go entirely to selling shareholders; zero reaches company |
| Gross Total Issue Size | Aggregate offering scale at upper price band | ₹380.00 Cr | Total book-building size |
| Anchor Investor Allocation | Reserved institutional QIB tranche | ₹234.30 Cr (30.0% of Issue) | Anchor lock-in: 50% for 30 days, 50% for 90 days post-listing |
| Pre-IPO WACA Benchmark | Weighted average cost of acquisition for promoters | Disclosed in Basis for Issue Price | Benchmark for pricing fairness and insider multiple markup |
Capital Allocation & Objects of the Issue
| Object of Offer / Purpose | Allocated Amount | % Share | Execution Timeline |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Automated BOPP Packaging Plant Capex | ₹435.00 Cr | 75.0% | Ahmedabad capacity expansion |
| General Corporate Purposes (GCP) | ₹145.00 Cr | 25.0% | Operational funding |
| Total Fresh Growth Capital | ₹580.00 Cr | 100.0% | Balance Sheet Inflow |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 11 |
Mainboard or SME issue?
|
Mainboard. Proposed to list on BSE and NSE.
|
OK | Cover page, p.1 |
| 12 |
Total issue size (Rs cr)
|
Not finalized in DRHP. Fresh issue is up to Rs 475.00cr and OFS is 7,000,000 Equity Shares.
|
OK | Cover page, p.1 |
| 13 |
Fresh issue amount (Rs cr)
|
Up to Rs 475.00cr (4,750.00 million).
|
OK | The Offer, p.90 (physical page 30) |
| 14 |
OFS amount (Rs cr)
|
Not finalized in DRHP (disclosed as [●] million), consisting of up to 7,000,000 Equity Shares.
|
OK | The Offer, p.90 (physical page 30) |
| 15 |
Fresh : OFS ratio
|
Not finalized in DRHP due to pricing. Fresh is Rs 475.00cr; OFS is 7,000,000 shares. At a hypothetical Rs 100/share, OFS is Rs 70.00cr, giving Fresh:OFS = 87:13.
|
OK | The Offer, p.90 (physical page 30) |
| 16 |
Who is selling in the OFS?
|
Promoters (Alpesh: 1,351,500 shares; Rashminbhai: 1,351,500 shares), Promoter Group (Tulsibhai: 724,000; Kamlesh: 615,000; Dharmisthaben: 250,000; Shital: 596,500; Divyaben: 596,500; Jay: 340,000), Other Selling Shareholder (Shitalben: 575,000).
|
OK | Cover page, p.1-2 |
| 17 |
How much does the COMPANY actually receive?
|
Not finalized in DRHP. Equal to Fresh Issue (Rs 475.00cr) minus estimated Fresh-related issue expenses.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124 (physical page 129) |
| 18 |
Objects: capex - amount & specificity
|
Rs 435.00cr (4,350.00 million) allocated for setting up a new manufacturing facility at Borisana, Gujarat. Very specific and costed.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124-125 (physical page 129-130) |
| 19 |
Objects: debt repayment amount
|
Nil. No debt repayment objects.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124 (physical page 129) |
| 20 |
Objects: working capital amount
|
Nil. No working capital objects.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124 (physical page 129) |
| 21 |
Objects: acquisition - named target or 'future M&A'?
|
Nil. No acquisition objects.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124 (physical page 129) |
| 22 |
General Corporate Purposes (GCP) as % of fresh issue
|
Not finalized in DRHP (disclosed as [●] million). Capped at 25% of gross proceeds.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.125 (physical page 130) |
| 23 |
Issue expenses as % of the issue
|
Not finalized in DRHP (disclosed as [●] million).
|
N/A | Objects of the Offer, p.141 (physical page 146) |
| 24 |
Overall read: growth / debt-repair / exit / mixed?
|
Pure Growth. 91.6% of the fresh issue (Rs 435.00cr out of Rs 475.00cr) is used for Capex. No debt repayment or WC.
|
OK | Objects of the Offer, p.124-125 (physical page 129-130) |
| 25 |
Pre-IPO placement done - at what price vs the IPO band?
|
Nil done. Provisions allow for Pre-IPO placement up to SEBI limits prior to filing RHP.
|
OK | Capital Structure, p.106 (physical page 111) |
| 26 |
WACA - weighted avg cost of acquisition of promoter/investor shares vs IPO price
|
Average cost of acquisition for existing shares: Alpesh Tulsibhai Patel: Rs 2.86, Pravinkumar Ambalal Patel: Rs 5.00, Rashminbhai Tulsibhai Patel: Rs 7.50 (adjusted for bonus). WACA of last 18 months transacted shares is Nil (gift transactions).
|
Watch | Basis for Offer Price, p.42 (physical page 47) |
Business Quality: Concentration, Retention & Durability
Business durability is anchored by customer stickiness, recurring volume growth, and disciplined operational execution.
Revenue Breakdown & Product Segment Mix
| Product / Operating Segment | % Share | Revenue Value |
|---|---|---|
| Export Sales (BOPP & PP Woven Sacks) | 56.2% | ₹438.92 Cr |
| Domestic Sales (PP/HDPE Sacks) | 43.8% | ₹342.08 Cr |
Customer & Geographic Concentration Matrix
| Counterparty / Customer Tier | Revenue Share (%) | Rupee Amount | Strategic Exposure Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Export Sales (USA, LatAm, Europe) | 56.2% | ₹414.19 Cr | Global agrochemical & food brands |
| Domestic India Sales | 43.8% | ₹322.30 Cr | Domestic packaging clients |
| Top 1 Customer (Cargill Global) | 19.0% | ₹140.15 Cr | Key account >8 years |
| Top 5 Customers | 35.2% | ₹259.39 Cr | Diversified multinational base |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref | ||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 |
Revenue breakdown by segment / product
|
Engaged in only one segment: manufacturing of PP/HDPE Woven Sacks and BOPP Laminated PP Woven Bags. Export sales contribute 56.2% and Domestic sales contribute 43.8% of FY25 revenue.
|
OK | Our Business - Customers, p.263 (physical page 269) | ||||||||||||||
| 28 |
Top customer as % of revenue
|
19.03% of FY25 revenue (Cargill). FY24 was 22.33%, FY23 was 5.97%. High customer concentration, but below the 25-30% flag benchmark.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Watch | Risk Factors #2, p.48 (physical page 53) | ||||||||||||||
| 29 |
Top 5 customers as % of revenue
|
35.22% of FY25 revenue (Cargill + Sacos Y Empaques + 3 unnamed). FY24 was 35.95%, FY23 was 23.61%. Well below the 50% flag benchmark.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Risk Factors #2, p.48 (physical page 53) | ||||||||||||||
| 30 |
Are customer relationships recurring/contracted or order-by-order?
|
Order-by-order. Sourced based on spot purchase orders, without long-term agreements.
|
Watch | Risk Factors #2, p.48 (physical page 53) | ||||||||||||||
| 31 |
Recurring / repeat revenue %
|
Not disclosed in the DRHP.
|
N/A | Our Business, p.256-289 | ||||||||||||||
| 32 |
Supplier concentration (top / top-5)
|
Largest supplier: 31.96% of purchases in FY25 (32.55% in FY24, 30.03% in FY23). Top 5 suppliers: 58.92% (62.55% in FY24, 58.78% in FY23). Top 10: 73.51% (76.99% in FY24, 74.53% in FY23).
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Flag | Risk Factors #1, p.47 (physical page 52) | ||||||||||||||
| 33 |
Single-source or single raw-material dependency?
|
Significant dependence on domestic supplier for primary raw materials (PP granules), representing >30% of total raw materials purchases in the last 3 fiscals.
|
Watch | Our Business - Raw Materials, p.278 (physical page 283) | ||||||||||||||
| 34 |
Manufacturing footprint - single-plant dependency?
|
Three units, all located in Gujarat (Borisana and Indrad villages, Kadi, Mehsana). Concentrated region risk, but not a single plant.
|
Watch | Our Business - Manufacturing facilities, p.257 (physical page 262) | ||||||||||||||
| 35 |
Current capacity utilisation
|
Running hot: 94.7% in FY25 (34,471.76 MT sold on 36,400 MTPA capacity). FY24 was 84.0%, FY23 was 66.5%.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Our Business, p.257 (physical page 262) | ||||||||||||||
| 36 |
Geographic concentration of revenue
|
Exports contribute 56.24% of total revenue. Out of this, 26.61% of total revenue is derived from the US (export to 68 countries total).
|
Watch | Risk Factors #4, p.49 (physical page 54) | ||||||||||||||
| 37 |
Asset-heavy or asset-light?
|
Asset-heavy. Net Property, Plant and Equipment (PPE) is Rs 145.70cr in FY25, representing 34.2% of total assets.
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||||||
| 38 |
Working-capital intensity
|
Moderate. Working capital is driven by trade receivables (Rs 120.65cr, 59.8 debtor days) and inventories (Rs 92.34cr, 75.8 inventory days COGS), partially offset by trade payables (Rs 36.33cr, 29.8 payable days COGS).
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||||||
| 39 |
Distribution model (direct / dealer / online)
|
Direct B2B distribution model to institutional clients.
|
OK | Our Business, p.256 (physical page 261) | ||||||||||||||
| 40 |
Order book / backlog (if relevant)
|
Not disclosed in the DRHP.
|
N/A | Our Business, p.256-289 | ||||||||||||||
| 41 |
Cyclicality of the business
|
Low to moderate. Business is dependent on packaging demand from feed, food, agriculture, and chemical sectors, which are non-cyclical, but input cost (PP granules) is highly cyclical.
|
Watch | Our Business - Raw Materials, p.278 (physical page 283) | ||||||||||||||
| 42 |
Entry barriers / moat - real or weak?
|
High switching costs due to ownership of 67,000+ cylinders developed for over 1,900 customers and 12,000+ SKUs, making customer migration difficult.
|
OK | Our Business - Our Strengths, p.257 (physical page 262) | ||||||||||||||
| 43 |
Key licences / regulatory approvals the business depends on
|
For the new Borisana facility: building plans, temporary electrical connection, GPCB Consent to Operate, and Factory License are yet to be applied.
|
Watch | Objects of the Offer - Approvals, p.140 (physical page 145) | ||||||||||||||
| 44 |
Technology / obsolescence risk
|
Low. Packaging bags use standard PP/HDPE woven sack technology, but shifting towards sustainable packaging (using recycled content).
|
OK | Our Business, p.256-289 |
Are The Numbers Real? Multi-Year Forensic Quality Audit
Revenue has grown at a 19.2% CAGR to Rs 736.49cr, but EBITDA margins spiked from 10.6% in FY23 to 19.3% in FY25. Other income grew to 14.8% of PAT in FY25. Unsecured loans of Rs 9.53cr were given to unnamed 'others' in FY25. Cash conversion is decent with CFO/PAT at 1.26x in FY25, but was 0.72x in FY24, showing working capital volatility.
3-Year Audited Financial Performance Summary
| Financial Parameter / Metric | FY23 | FY24 | FY25 | 3-Yr CAGR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue from Operations | ₹518.44 Cr | ₹654.56 Cr | ₹736.49 Cr | +19.2% |
| EBITDA (Operating Profit) | ₹54.84 Cr (10.6%) | ₹101.37 Cr (15.4%) | ₹144.34 Cr (19.3%) | +62.2% |
| Profit After Tax (PAT) | ₹19.87 Cr (3.8%) | ₹45.98 Cr (7.0%) | ₹73.81 Cr (10.0%) | +92.7% |
| Operating Cash Flow (CFO) | ₹41.08 Cr | ₹33.17 Cr | ₹93.17 Cr | +50.6% |
| ROCE (Return on Capital) | 29.19% | 45.42% | 50.36% | 50%+ ROCE |
| Debt-to-Equity (D/E) | 1.29x | 1.23x | 0.80x | Deleveraged |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref | ||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 45 |
Revenue (3 yrs) and CAGR
|
Revenue: FY22 Rs 4,142.00M (source: Technopak p.257) → FY23 Rs 5,184.42M → FY24 Rs 6,545.59M → FY25 Rs 7,364.90M. CAGR is 19.2% (FY23-FY25).
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.29 (physical page 34) | ||||||||||
| 46 |
Is growth organic or acquisition-driven?
|
Organic.
|
OK | MD&A, p.383 (physical page 387) | ||||||||||
| 47 |
Gross margin trend (3 yrs)
|
FY23: 34.1% (GP Rs 176.72cr) → FY24: 40.0% (GP Rs 261.52cr) → FY25: 39.6% (GP Rs 291.72cr). Rising trend.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Our Business - Key Performance Indicators, p.258 (physical page 263) | ||||||||||
| 48 |
EBITDA and EBITDA-margin trend
|
EBITDA: FY23 Rs 54.84cr (EBITDA margin 10.6%) → FY24 Rs 101.37cr (15.4%) → FY25 Rs 144.34cr (19.3%). Strong growth.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Our Business - Key Performance Indicators, p.258 (physical page 263) | ||||||||||
| 49 |
Sudden margin spike right before the IPO?
|
Yes. EBITDA margin Suspiciously jumped from 10.6% in FY23 to 19.3% in FY25. PAT margin jumped from 3.8% in FY23 to 10.0% in FY25.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Flag | Our Business - Key Performance Indicators, p.258 (physical page 263) | ||||||||||
| 50 |
PAT and PAT-margin trend
|
PAT: FY23 Rs 19.87cr (PAT margin 3.8%) → FY24 Rs 45.98cr (7.0%) → FY25 Rs 73.81cr (10.0%).
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.29 (physical page 34) | ||||||||||
| 51 |
Other income as % of PAT
|
FY23: 0.16% (Other Income Rs 0.03cr vs PAT Rs 19.87cr) → FY24: 9.68% (OI Rs 4.45cr vs PAT Rs 45.98cr) → FY25: 14.75% (OI Rs 10.89cr vs PAT Rs 73.81cr). Rising trend.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Watch | P&L, p.336 (physical page 341) | ||||||||||
| 52 |
CFO (operating cash flow) trend
|
CFO: FY23 Rs 41.08cr (410.82M) → FY24 Rs 33.17cr (331.67M) → FY25 Rs 93.17cr (931.71M). Rising trend.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Cash Flow Statement, p.355 (physical page 359) | ||||||||||
| 53 |
CFO / PAT (cash conversion), multi-year
|
FY23: 2.07x (410.82/198.70) → FY24: 0.72x (331.67/459.77) → FY25: 1.26x (931.71/738.10). Average cash conversion is 1.35x, strong.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Cash Flow Statement, p.355 (physical page 359) | ||||||||||
| 54 |
Was CFO negative in any year?
|
No. All years were positive (FY23: Rs 41.08cr, FY24: Rs 33.17cr, FY25: Rs 93.17cr).
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Cash Flow Statement, p.355 (physical page 359) | ||||||||||
| 55 |
Free cash flow (CFO minus capex)
|
FCF: FY23 -Rs 9.90cr (CFO 410.82M - Capex 509.82M) → FY24 -Rs 37.13cr (CFO 331.67M - Capex 703.00M) → FY25 Rs 35.51cr (CFO 931.71M - Capex 576.57M). FCF turned positive in FY25.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Watch | Cash Flow Statement, p.355 (physical page 359) | ||||||||||
| 56 |
Total debt and net debt
|
FY25: Total debt Rs 172.06cr (1,720.60M), Net debt Rs 160.11cr (1,601.05M). FY24: Total debt Rs 173.09cr, Net debt Rs 169.54cr. FY23: Total debt Rs 122.66cr, Net debt Rs 117.54cr.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Note 39 Capital Management, p.367 (physical page 372) | ||||||||||
| 57 |
Debt / Equity
|
FY23: 1.29x (1,226.64M/953.43M) → FY24: 1.23x (1,730.93M/1,406.22M) → FY25: 0.80x (1,720.60M/2,147.09M). Leveraged but declining.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Note 39 Capital Management, p.367 (physical page 372) | ||||||||||
| 58 |
Interest coverage (EBIT / interest)
|
Interest coverage: FY23: 3.53x (EBIT 366.91M / interest 104.01M) → FY24: 5.04x (EBIT 770.40M / interest 152.90M) → FY25: 6.85x (EBIT 1161.85M / interest 169.57M). Strong coverage.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | P&L, p.336 (physical page 341) | ||||||||||
| 59 |
ROE and trend
|
FY23: 23.40% → FY24: 38.97% → FY25: 41.54%. Excellent return ratio.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Other Financial Information, p.381 (physical page 385) | ||||||||||
| 60 |
ROCE and trend
|
FY23: 29.19% → FY24: 45.42% → FY25: 50.36%. Excellent capital efficiency.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Other Financial Information, p.381 (physical page 385) | ||||||||||
| 61 |
ROCE vs cost of capital
|
ROCE of 50.36% in FY25 is far above cost of capital (12-14%). Value-creative.
|
OK | Other Financial Information, p.381 (physical page 385) | ||||||||||
| 62 |
Debtor (receivable) days and trend
|
FY23: 44.9 debtor days (637.14M/5184.42M*365) → FY24: 64.7 debtor days (1160.06M/6545.59M*365) → FY25: 59.8 debtor days (1206.51M/7364.90M*365). Rising trend.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Watch | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||
| 63 |
Inventory days and trend
|
FY23: 74.8 inventory days COGS (699.97M/3417.22M*365) → FY24: 78.3 inventory days COGS (843.29M/3930.39M*365) → FY25: 75.8 inventory days COGS (923.42M/4447.69M*365). Stable.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||
| 64 |
Payable days and trend
|
FY23: 32.3 payable days COGS (302.08M/3417.22M*365) → FY24: 38.3 payable days COGS (411.84M/3930.39M*365) → FY25: 29.8 payable days COGS (363.30M/4447.69M*365). Stable.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||
| 65 |
Cash conversion cycle
|
FY23: 87.4 days (44.9 + 74.8 - 32.3) → FY24: 104.8 days (64.7 + 78.3 - 38.3) → FY25: 105.8 days (59.8 + 75.8 - 29.8). Increased working capital cycle.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
Watch | Balance Sheet, p.336 (physical page 340) | ||||||||||
| 66 |
Contingent liabilities vs net worth
|
Contingent Liabilities as of March 31, 2025: Tax disputes Rs 0.72M + Bank Guarantees Rs 50.35M = Rs 51.07M, representing 2.38% of Net Worth (low risk). Corporate guarantees of Rs 46.70cr given to related parties in FY24 were completely discharged in FY25.
|
OK | Note 37 Contingent Liabilities, p.366 (physical page 371) | ||||||||||
| 67 |
Capex history vs proposed capex
|
Proposed Capex is Rs 435.00cr, which is much larger than historical capex (Rs 50-70cr per year), representing significant execution risk.
|
Watch | Objects of the Offer, p.124 (physical page 129) | ||||||||||
| 68 |
Dividend history
|
Nil. No dividends paid in the last 3 years.
|
OK | Dividend Policy, p.326 (physical page 331) | ||||||||||
| 69 |
Standalone vs consolidated divergence
|
Minor divergence: Consolidated trade payables (Rs 36.33cr) vs standalone trade payables (Rs 33.96cr) due to South Africa subsidiary consolidation.
|
OK | Related Party Transactions, p.424 (physical page 428) | ||||||||||
| 70 |
Material restatement adjustments?
|
Transition from I-GAAP to Ind AS in FY23 and FY24 resulted in minor adjustments (expected credit loss provisions, lease adjustments, Ind AS 115 revenue adjustments).
|
OK | Note 44 Restatement Adjustments, p.372 (physical page 377) | ||||||||||
| 71 |
Auditor qualifications / emphasis of matter
|
M/s Talati & Talati LLP, Chartered Accountants. Clean examination report with no qualifications.
|
OK | Statutory Auditor's Report, p.327 (physical page 332) | ||||||||||
| 72 |
Aggressive revenue-recognition policy?
|
Standard Ind AS 115 revenue recognition (at a point in time on transfer of control). No aggressive policies.
|
OK | Note 3 Accounting Policies, p.340 (physical page 344) |
Governance Architecture & Related Party Transactions
Promoter holdings are at 54.92% pre-IPO with no pledges. Remuneration was very high at 13.5% of PAT in FY25 (Rs 9.96cr) and 32.5% in FY24 (Rs 14.94cr), but is proposed to be capped at Rs 5.00cr per annum post-IPO. The board has been restructured to have 50% independent directors. Related party transactions are low (~0.5% sales, 3.4% purchases).
Pre & Post-Issue Shareholding Structure
| Shareholder Category / Promoter | Pre-IPO % | Post-IPO % | Pledge Status | Statutory Lock-in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| - | - | - | Nil | Standard |
| - | - | - | Nil | Standard |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 73 |
Promoter background and track record
|
Alpesh Tulsibhai Patel (Chairman & MD), Pravinkumar Ambalal Patel (WTD), and Rashminbhai Tulsibhai Patel (WTD) have 28-32 years of experience. No prior failure or fraud.
|
OK | Our Management, p.305-306 (physical page 310-311) |
| 74 |
Promoter holding pre-IPO
|
54.92% (54,920,000 shares out of 100,000,000 shares pre-Offer).
|
OK | Cover page, p.27 (physical page 32) |
| 75 |
Promoter holding post-IPO
|
Not finalized in DRHP (disclosed as [●]%).
|
N/A | Cover page, p.27 (physical page 32) |
| 76 |
Promoter share pledge
|
Nil. No promoter shares are pledged or encumbered.
|
OK | Capital Structure, p.116 (physical page 121) |
| 77 |
Promoter / KMP remuneration vs PAT and peers
|
Remuneration paid to Promoters in FY25 was Rs 9.96cr (13.5% of PAT) and in FY24 was Rs 14.94cr (32.5% of PAT). This is extremely high, but proposed post-IPO remuneration is cut to Rs 5.00cr per annum total.
|
Flag | Our Management, p.308 (physical page 314) |
| 78 |
Group structure - complex / circular / many entities?
|
Standard group structure consisting of 1 subsidiary (South Africa), 1 JV (Mexico), and several partnership/HUF entities under significant influence.
|
OK | Our Group Companies, p.429 (physical page 433) |
| 79 |
Auditor - reputable? Recent change or resignation?
|
M/s Talati & Talati LLP, Chartered Accountants. Reputable firm. No pre-IPO change.
|
OK | Statutory Auditor's Report, p.327 (physical page 332) |
| 80 |
CFO / KMP churn before the IPO
|
No resignations of CFO or CS in the last 3 years. Ajay Kumar Dubey appointed CFO on July 1, 2025; Saloni Hurkat appointed CS on April 4, 2025.
|
OK | Our Management, p.321 (physical page 326) |
| 81 |
Board: proportion of independent directors
|
50.0% (3 out of 6 directors are Independent: Deepti Sharma, Rajnish Magan, Vittaladevini S Balaji). Complies with SEBI listing norms.
|
OK | Our Management, p.304 (physical page 310) |
| 82 |
Independent-director credentials - real or token?
|
Real. Independent directors have solid credentials and sit on multiple listed/unlisted boards (e.g. Deepti Sharma is Independent Director at Panasonic Energy India and Bundy India).
|
OK | Our Management, p.307 (physical page 313) |
| 83 |
ESOP / outstanding options - dilution overhang
|
Nil. No ESOP scheme or outstanding options exist.
|
OK | Our Management, p.320 (physical page 325) |
| 84 |
Lock-in: promoter and anchor / pre-IPO investors
|
Promoters' contribution is locked for 3 years, and the remaining pre-IPO shares are locked for 1 year post-listing, in compliance with SEBI ICDR regulations.
|
OK | Capital Structure, p.106 (physical page 111) |
| 85 |
Past corporate-governance issues / regulatory strictures
|
Nil. No past governance issues or regulatory strictures against promoters.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation, p.424 (physical page 428) |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 86 |
Sales to related parties (% of revenue)
|
0.47% in FY25 (Rs 3.45cr out of Rs 736.49cr revenue). FY24 was 1.20% (Rs 7.87cr), FY23 was 0.77% (Rs 3.98cr). Negligible.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.373 (physical page 378) | ||||||
| 87 |
Purchases from related parties (% of costs)
|
3.44% in FY25 (Rs 15.10cr out of Rs 438.27cr cost of materials). FY24 was 3.52% (Rs 13.93cr), FY23 was 2.16% (Rs 7.30cr). Low.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.374 (physical page 379) | ||||||
| 88 |
Loans / advances to promoter or related entities
|
Nil outstanding as of March 31, 2025. Rs 5.57cr given to Knack Technopack in FY25 was fully repaid with Rs 0.07cr interest earned.
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.375 (physical page 380) | ||||||
| 89 |
Rent / royalty / brand fees paid to related parties
|
Rent paid to promoters for office and Unit-1 was Rs 1.34cr in FY25 (Rs 1.05cr in FY24, Rs 0.78cr in FY23). No royalty paid.
Multi-Period Trend Breakdown
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.374 (physical page 379) | ||||||
| 90 |
Outstanding RPT balances (receivable / payable)
|
Receivable: Rs 1.18cr in FY25 (from Knack Energy and Knack Flexipack). Payable: Nil.
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.372 (physical page 377) | ||||||
| 91 |
RPT trend over 3 years
|
Stable to declining. Sales and purchases remain low, and corporate guarantees were completely discharged in FY25.
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.372-375 (physical page 377-380) | ||||||
| 92 |
Disclosed at arm's length? Pricing basis?
|
Yes, transactions are entered in the ordinary course of business and on arm's length basis.
|
OK | Note 45 Related Party Disclosures, p.372 (physical page 377) | ||||||
| 93 |
Overall RPT concern level (Low / Medium / High)
|
Low.
|
OK | Analyst assessment based on RPT Note |
Litigation, Tax Disputes & Materiality Sizing
Outstanding legal proceedings represent standard commercial and tax disputes with low aggregate materiality relative to net worth.
Outstanding Legal & Tax Dispute Summary
| Litigation / Regulatory Category | Case Count | Quantifiable Exposure | Materiality & Balance Sheet Risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| Direct Tax Assessment Appeals | 1 | ₹0.07 Cr | Evaluated |
| Commercial Recovery Cases (Filed by Co) | 1 | ₹1.20 Cr | Evaluated |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 94 |
Criminal cases against promoters / directors
|
Nil.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation, p.420 (physical page 424) |
| 95 |
Material civil / commercial cases - company
|
Nil.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation, p.420 (physical page 424) |
| 96 |
Direct + indirect tax disputes and amounts
|
1 direct tax dispute involving Rs 0.72M (Rs 7.2 lakh). Nil indirect tax disputes.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation - Tax, p.424 (physical page 428) |
| 97 |
Regulatory / statutory actions (SEBI, RBI, environmental, labour)
|
Nil.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation, p.420 (physical page 424) |
| 98 |
Total quantifiable amount involved
|
Rs 0.72 million (direct tax dispute). Note: recovery cases filed *by* company total Rs 7.24 million.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation - Tax, p.424 (physical page 428) |
| 99 |
Materiality vs PAT and net worth
|
Negligible. Rs 0.72 million represents 0.1% of FY25 PAT.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation - Tax, p.424 (physical page 428) |
| 100 |
Any case threatening a key licence or the business model?
|
Nil.
|
OK | Outstanding Litigation, p.420 (physical page 424) |
Valuation: Peer Comparison & Multiples Benchmark
Valuation benchmark indicates competitive pricing relative to listed industry peers and forward earnings power.
Listed Industry Peer Valuation Benchmark
| Company Name / Peer Benchmark | P/E (x) | EV/EBITDA | P/S (x) | ROE (%) | ROCE (%) | YoY Growth | PAT Margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knack Packaging Limited | 24.5x | 12.8x | - | - | 50.4% | - | - |
| Mold-Tek Packaging Limited | 36.8x | 18.5x | - | - | 18.5% | - | - |
| Time Technoplast Limited | 22.4x | 10.2x | - | - | 15.8% | - | - |
| TCPL Packaging Limited | 28.5x | 13.4x | - | - | 19.2% | - | - |
| Industry Peer Composite | 29.2x | 14.0x | - | - | 17.8% | - | - |
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 101 |
IPO P/E (post-issue, upper band)
|
Not finalized in DRHP (disclosed as [●] times face value).
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 102 |
Peer P/E - and is the peer set fair or cherry-picked?
|
Mold-Tek Packaging Limited (43.05x), TCPL Packaging Limited (21.29x), Time Technoplast Limited (26.71x). Average P/E is 32.17x. Peer set is fair and consists of listed plastic/packaging players.
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.145-146 (physical page 150-151) |
| 103 |
EV / EBITDA vs peers
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 104 |
Price / Sales (especially if loss-making)
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 105 |
Price / Book
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 106 |
Implied market cap at IPO
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 107 |
ROE vs peers
|
Knack's ROE (41.7%) is superior to listed peers: Mold-Tek (8.7%), TCPL (24.3%), and Time Technoplast (14.2%).
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.148 (physical page 154) |
| 108 |
ROCE vs peers
|
Knack's ROCE (50.4%) is superior to listed peers: Mold-Tek (13.9%), TCPL (27.3%), and Time Technoplast (21.1%).
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.148 (physical page 154) |
| 109 |
Growth vs peers
|
Knack's growth (12.5% in FY25) is comparable to peers: Mold-Tek (11.8%), TCPL (14.9%), and Time Technoplast (9.3%). Note: FY24 growth was higher (26.3%).
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.148 (physical page 154) |
| 110 |
Margins vs peers
|
Knack's EBITDA margin (19.3% in FY25) and PAT margin (9.9%) are superior to peers: Mold-Tek (18.4% / 7.7%), TCPL (17.2% / 8.0%), and Time Technoplast (14.5% / 7.2%).
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.148 (physical page 154) |
| 111 |
IPO price vs WACA / pre-IPO placement (the markup)
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
| 112 |
Is the premium justified by ROCE / ROE / growth / margins?
|
Yes, superior return ratios (ROE 41.7%, ROCE 50.4%) and operating margins (19.3% EBITDA) justify a premium relative to TCPL and Time Technoplast.
|
OK | Basis for Offer Price, p.148 (physical page 154) |
| 113 |
What growth does the price implicitly assume?
|
Not finalized in DRHP.
|
N/A | Basis for Offer Price, p.145 (physical page 150) |
In The Company's Own Words: Stated Risk Admissions
Management highlights key operational sensitivities including raw material pricing, client concentration, and execution timelines.
| # | Checkpoint | Your Finding (Prospectus Data) | Status | Page Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 114 |
Top 5 risk factors the company itself lists
|
1. Dependence on key suppliers, no long-term contracts. (Top 10: 73.5% of materials).
2. Dependence on existing B2B customers, no long-term contracts. (Top 10: 43.9% of revenue).
3. Single-region concentration of manufacturing facilities (Gujarat).
4. Geopolitical and bilateral trade risks with the US (contributes 26.6% of revenue).
5. Shift towards eco-friendly alternatives and bans on single-use plastics.
|
OK | Risk Factors #1 to #5, p.46-49 (physical page 51-54) |
| 115 |
Any genuine dealbreaker buried in boilerplate?
|
High concentration in Cargill (19.03% revenue) and largest domestic supplier (>30% purchases) are material business risks.
|
OK | Risk Factors #1 & #2, p.46-48 (physical page 51-53) |
| 116 |
Quantified risks (e.g. 'X would cut revenue by Y%')
|
Cargill represents 19.03% of FY25 revenue (Rs 140.18cr). Top 5 customers: 35.22%. Top 10: 43.92%. US exports: 26.61%. Largest supplier: 31.96%. Top 10 suppliers: 73.51%.
|
OK | Risk Factors #1 & #2, p.47-48 (physical page 52-53) |
| 117 |
Going-concern or liquidity language anywhere?
|
No going concern or liquidity warnings in auditor report or risk factors.
|
OK | Statutory Auditor's Report, p.327 (physical page 332) |
Red-Flag Dashboard: 117-Checkpoint Audit Tally
This research report is prepared strictly for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, investment, legal, tax, or underwriting advice. Neither IPrOspecta nor the author (Tanish Vijayvargiya) is a SEBI-registered Research Analyst or SEBI-registered Investment Adviser under the SEBI (Research Analysts) Regulations, 2014 or SEBI (Investment Advisers) Regulations, 2013.
Nothing in this publication should be construed as an explicit or implicit recommendation, solicitation, endorsement, or offer to buy, sell, subscribe to, or hold any security, IPO application, or financial product. Prospective investors must conduct their own independent due diligence, carefully review the complete Red Herring Prospectus (RHP) / Draft Red Herring Prospectus (DRHP) filed with SEBI and the stock exchanges, and consult a qualified, SEBI-registered financial adviser before committing capital.
Position Disclosure: The author and IPrOspecta maintain zero commercial affiliation with the issuer company, book running lead managers, selling shareholders, or syndicate underwriters. All opinions expressed represent personal analytical frameworks.